ARCHAEOLOGICAL MUSEUM OF IOANNINA
The Museum was constructed between 1963 and 1966 with designs by architect ‘Aris Konstantinidis. Works for the public since 1/8/1970. It has five halls and two atriums. Halls A, B and C include archaeological findings from the wider area of Epirus. Hall D was dedicated to Byzantine, post-Byzantine and folk art until the early 1990s, but it is now closed. The guide of the Museum of Ioannina was compiled by Julia Bokotopoulou and was released in 1973.
WAX MUSEUM OF PAVLOS VRELLIS
On the 14th km of the Ioannina-Athens highway, near Bizani, there is the wax museum of sculptor Pavlos Vrellis. The waxworks of the museum, in natural size and integrated into a faithful representation of the environment of their time, revive forms of the newest mainly history.
Three thematic sections of the Museum: the Pre-Revolutionary Period (the Hidden School, the founding of the Friendly Society, the martyrdom of Dionysios Psilosofos, etc.), events of 1821 (The Thieves, the death of Ali Pasa, etc.) pictures from the Second World War (the women of Pindos, etc.).
The ancient theater of Dodoni, one of the largest and most well-preserved theaters in the ancient world, with a capacity of 17,000 spectators, is located 22 km south of Ioannina. Its earliest findings date back to the Early Helladic period (2.600-2.000 BC). Its inhabitants worship at that time Goddess Earth. Later, the Ellopes, Doric leaf, dwell in the Middle Helladic period the Dodoni region.
CASTLE OF IOANNINA
The castle of Ioannina is a reference point of the homonymous city. Its present form is due to Ali Pasha, who rebuilt the castle in 1815 almost on its foundations. Access to the castle until 1913 was only possible if the staircase connecting the outer world to the castle was dropped from inside, and that was why the lake and the water ditch were touching the walls. From the main gate, where the Turks hung the new martyr George, the patron saint of Ioannina, we enter the castle.
A) The monastery of Panagia Molyvdoskapastos is located 100 meters from the Greek-Albanian border. The bell tower is the only entrance of the monastery. The cells are located at the edge of the southern side and along the west .
B) Monastery of Kipina. Above the ravine, which flows through the Kalarrytiko tributary of Arachthos, nestled on the rock, lies the monastery of Theotokos Kipina overlooking the imposing peaks of Tzoumerka. The monastery, impressed by its dazzling construction and its harmonization with the rocky environment, was built in the 18th century, but it is thought to have its roots in the Byzantine era.